GLEN BURNIE, MD (April 18, 2024) – The Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration’s (MDOT MVA) Highway Safety Office this week honored 119 officers, from 30 agencies across the state, as Traffic Safety Specialists (TSS) recognizing their commitment and contributions to traffic safety in 2023. In total, 104 officers received a level I designation, 14 officers received a level II designation, and one officer received a level III designation.

The statewide TSS program recognizes officers who have attained distinct levels of experience, training, and proficiency in highway safety and traffic enforcement methods and procedures. The program is a collaborative effort of MVA’s Highway Safety Office, the Maryland Chiefs of Police Association and the Maryland Sheriffs’ Association.

“I continue to be impressed by the number of officers who have taken the initiative to earn their Traffic Safety Specialist designation. This is a clear testament to these officers’ dedication to protecting Maryland communities and roads,” said MDOT MVA Administrator Chrissy Nizer, who also serves as Governor Wes Moore’s Highway Safety Representative. “Officers play a critical role in the state’s efforts to eliminate deaths on Maryland roadways by proactively stopping dangerous behaviors before someone is injured or killed.”

To develop effective solutions that address local and statewide traffic safety, law enforcement agencies must have personnel that are highly skilled in traffic safety. The TSS program provides a framework that provides officers an opportunity to receive credit and recognition for their skills and contributions.

Established in 2008, TSS is open to police officers, deputy sheriffs and state troopers from across Maryland and federal law enforcement agencies. The program offers TSS I, TSS II and TSS III designations, each requiring specific levels of knowledge, instruction, job performance and skills proficiency. Specialized requirements, such as Speed Detection Device certification, Standardized Field Sobriety Test certification and participation in High Visibility Enforcement campaigns, are examples of specifications needed to achieve one of the three TSS levels. To be eligible, officers must enroll in the program and submit required documentation for the level they are seeking. TSS III requires an extensive traffic safety project which must be reviewed and approved by the TSS Executive Committee, comprised of current and retired law enforcement officers.

Sergeant Edward Bartlinski stands to the left with his award. Acting MDTA Police Chief Joseph F. Scott stands to his right.

Sergeant Edward Bartlinski of the Maryland Transportation Authority (MDTA) Police stands with acting MDTA Police Chief Joseph F. Scott

Sergeant Edward Bartlinski of the Maryland Transportation Authority (MDTA) Police was honored as the sole TSS level III designee in 2023 – only the fourth TSS level III designee since 2008. Sergeant Bartlinski successfully presented his project “Reducing the Storm of Crashes: A Safety Initiative for I-95 in Baltimore” to the TSS Executive Committee.

“MDTA Police Officers continue to distinguish themselves by meeting the requirements of the TSS program, and Sergeant Bartlinski has proven himself as one of Maryland’s traffic safety leaders,” Acting MDTA Police Chief Joseph F. Scott said. “These efforts are reducing crashes and saving lives.”

More than 1,000 officers throughout Maryland have earned the TSS Designation since its inception. Agencies with TSS officers designated in 2023 include:

Department TSS Designation I TSS Designation II TSS Designation III
Aberdeen Police Department 1
Allegany County Sheriff’s Department 1
Anne Arundel County Police Department 2 1
Baltimore City Police Department 1
Baltimore County Police Department 4 1
Bladensburg Police Department 1
Charles County Sheriff’s Office 1
Federal – Aberdeen Proving Grounds 1
Federal – Naval District Washington Police Department 2
Forest Heights Police Department 1
Frederick County Sheriff’s Office 1
Frostburg Police Department 1
Gaithersburg Police Department 3
Glenarden Police Department 1
Greenbelt Police Department 1 1
Harford County Sheriff’s Office 1
Howard County Police Department 4
LaPlata Police Department 1
Laurel Police Department 1 1
Maryland Capital Police Department 1
Maryland Transportation Authority Police 32 2 1
Montgomery County Police Department 3
Maryland State Police 36 2
New Carrollton Police Department 1
Ocean City Police Department 1
Perryville Police Department 1 1
Prince George’s County Police Department 1
Queen Anne’s Sheriff’s Office 1
University of Maryland College Park Police Department 2
Washington County Sheriff’s Office 1
Total 104 14 1

Learn more about the MDOT MVA’s Highway Safety Office at or on Facebook, Twitter/X and Instagram at @ZeroDeathsMD.