As part of the statewide focus to eliminate motor vehicle crashes and ultimately roadway fatalities, the Hogan Administration has announced the distribution of $11.8 million in state and federal highway safety grants for Federal Fiscal Year 2021. The funds are dispersed by the Maryland Highway Safety Office to more than 90 traffic safety-related organizations and law enforcement agencies across the State. 

The funds awarded are used for traffic safety initiatives and are allocated based on crash data for each county and/or organization’s applications. The funding for the Federal Fiscal Year 2021, runs from October 1, 2020, to September 30, 2021. 

Highway Safety Grant Distribution

Below is a breakdown of the highway safety grant amounts allocated for Federal Fiscal Year 2021 as of September 14, 2020.

Agency  Total Grant Amount 
Aberdeen Police Department  $6,792.00 
Allegany County Sheriff’s Office  $6,000.00 
Annapolis Police Department  $10,000.00 
Anne Arundel County Police Department  $98,000.00 
Baltimore City Police Department  $39,860.00 
Baltimore County Department of Health   $10,500.00 
Baltimore County Police Department  $293,000.00 
Baltimore County Police Department – Crash Reconstruction  $27,923.00 
Baltimore Metropolitan Council  $527,058.83 
Bel Air Police Department  $9,000.00 
Berlin Police Department  $5,500.00 
Calvert Alliance Against Substance Abuse  $5,180.00 
Calvert County Sheriff’s Office  $31,300.00 
Caroline County Sheriff’s Office  $15,416.00 
Carroll County Health Department  $2,139.50 
Carroll County Sheriff’s Department  $32,500.00 
Cecil County Sheriff’s Office  $23,500.00 
Charles County Sheriff’s Office  $70,000.00 
Chesapeake Region Safety Council  $330,379.50 
Children’s Village of Washington County Inc.  $8,869.50 
City of Bowie Police Department  $8,000.00 
City of Hyattsville Police Department  $10,000.00 
Crash Center for Research and Education  $225,351.20 
Cumberland Police Department  $3,000.00 
Dent Police Department  $4,990.00 
DRIVE SMART (for 2021 Maryland Summit)  $34,330.43 
Driving it Home of Prince George’s County  $13,620.00 
Easton Police Department  $22,500.00 
Elkton Police Department  $8,000.00 
Emergency Responder Safety Institute  $7,972.25 
Frederick County Health Department  $77,339.07 
Frederick Police Department  $40,000.00 
Frostburg Police Department  $2,000.00 
Fruitland Police Department  $5,494.50 
Gaithersburg Police Department  $26,000.00 
Greenbelt Police Department  $19,990.00 
Hagerstown Police Department  $13,560.00 
Hampstead Police Department  $5,000.00 
Harford County Sheriff’s Office  $87,900.00 
Havre de Grace Police Department  $6,930.00 
Howard County Police Department  $65,000.00 
La Plata Police Department  $8,000.00 
Laurel Police Department  $17,990.00 
Maryland Chiefs of Police Association  $224,560.00 
Maryland Department of Health  $260,375.04 
Maryland Institute College of Art  $128,365.76 
Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems  $118,203.95 
Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration  $120,585.00 
Maryland Municipal League Police Executive Association  $5,500.00 
Maryland National Capital Park & Planning  $1,000.00 
Maryland Natural Resources Police Department  $2,600.00 
Maryland Sheriff’s Association Inc.  $25,410.00 
Maryland State Police – Mobile Breath Testing Vehicle   $36,800.00 
Maryland State Police – SPIDRE DUI Team   $345,721.23 
Maryland State Police – Statewide Enforcement  $600,200.00 
Maryland State Police – Drug Recognition Expert  $303,039.34 
Maryland State’s Attorney’s Association   $209,712.40 
Maryland Transportation Authority  $88,000.00 
Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments  $250,000.00 
Montgomery County Police Department  $208,000.00 
Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office  $8,997.50 
Morgan State University  $44,100.00 
Mothers Against Drunk Driving  $58,652.44 
Mount Airy Police Department  $4,000.00 
Ocean City Police Department  $32,208.00 
Ocean Pines Police Department  $2,600.00 
Prince George’s County Police Department  $200,000.02 
Princess Anne Police Department  $10,793.73 
Queen Anne’s Sheriff’s Office  $4,680.00 
Riverdale Park Police Department  $15,500.00 
Rockville Police Department  $13,000.00 
Salisbury Police Department  $13,000.00 
Salisbury University Police Department  $2,000.00 
Seneca Valley High School  $2,067.60 
Statewide Traffic Safety Initiatives  $4,851,408.29 
St. Mary’s County Health Department  $8,800.00 
St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office  $23,000.00 
Sykesville Police Department  $5,000.00 
Talbot County Sheriff’s Office  $6,500.00 
Taneytown Police Department  $4,000.00 
University of Maryland Baltimore National Study Center   $493,288.52 
University of Maryland College Park Police Department  $16,000.00 
University of Maryland Medical System  $34,763.38 
Washington College  $491,222.62 
Washington County Sheriff’s Office  $7,610.00 
Washington Regional Alcohol Program  $281,881.19 
Westminster Police Department  $4,000.00 
Wicomico Sheriff’s Office  $13,000.00 
Worcester County Health Department  $3,542.00 
Worcester County Sheriff’s Office  $4,527.17 
Wor-Wic Community College  $6,600.00 
Total:  $11,860,700.96