Move Over

On October 1, 2022, the Move Over Law in Maryland expanded once again to now require motorists to make a lane change or slow down when approaching any stopped, standing, or parked vehicle displaying warning signals.

Maryland’s Move Over Law

It’s Maryland Law to move over when approaching ANY stopped, standing, or parked vehicle displaying warning signals – including hazard warning lights, road flares, or other caution signals including traffic cones, caution signs, or non-vehicular warning signs. If it is not safe or feasible to move over, motorists must slow to a reasonable and prudent speed that is safe for existing weather, road, and vehicular or pedestrian traffic conditions. 

The law is in place to protect law enforcement, emergency responders, and any motorist that may encounter a roadside emergency and must stop near travel lanes.


Violating the law is a misdemeanor carrying a $110 fine and one point on your license. If the violation causes a crash, the fine is $150 and three points. If there is a death or serious injury, the fine is $750 and three points.

The original “Move Over” law in Maryland, passed in 2010, provided protection only for emergency responders, law enforcement personnel, and CHART trucks who provide motorists roadside assistance. In 2014, the law was extended to include tow truck drivers. In 2022, the law was expanded again to include ALL stopped, standing, or parked vehicles. 

What to do During a Roadside Emergency

Guide for motorists to keep them and others safe in the event of an emergency incident, minor vehicle crash while traveling, or a vehicle breakdown.