# be the slow down driver



### Arrive safely.

scan to learn more

ZeroDeathsMD.gov/SpeedAgg







## SPEEDING PLAYS A ROLE IN A THIRD OF ALL CRASHES IN MARYLAND.

### **Educational Tips About Speeding**

- Speeding endangers the life of the speeder and all of the people on the road with them.
- If you encounter a speeder, remain calm and allow them to pass.
- Speeding rarely results in how quickly you arrive at your destination. Give yourself more travel time.
- Allow for extra space between you and other vehicles to give you enough time to stop in an emergency.
- Using the shoulder to pass another vehicle is dangerous and illegal.
- Bad weather, areas of road work, and other factors may require motorists to drive below the posted speed limit.

#### Maryland's Speeding Laws

- (TR 21-801) Exceeding the posted speed limit can result in fines of up to \$530 and up to five points on your driver's license.
- (TR 21-901) The fine for aggressive driving in Maryland can be up to \$370 and five points on your license.
- A police officer may issue a ticket in Maryland for aggressive driving if at least three of the following actions are observed:
  - Running red lights or stop signs.
  - Overtaking and passing in an unsafe manner (swerving).
  - · Using the shoulder to pass a vehicle.
  - · Crossing road lane lines in an unsafe manner.
  - · Tailgating or following too closely.
  - · Failure to yield right-of-way.
  - Exceeding a maximum speed limit or posted maximum speed limit.