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One in four deaths on Maryland’s 
roads is a pedestrian.



•	 At some point of the day, everyone is a 
pedestrian, and we all share the duty of 
keeping people safe.

•	 When driving:
•	 Always drive the speed limit and expect  

the unexpected. 

•	 Watch for people crossing the street.

•	 Slow down when nearing crosswalks  
and intersections.

•	 It’s important to take steps to keep yourself 
safe while walking:

•	 Always cross a street at a crosswalk  
whenever possible.

•	 Wear bright and/or reflective clothing while walking.

•	 Make eye contact with drivers when crossing  
the road.

•	 Use sidewalks when available.

•	 Walk facing opposing traffic, if no sidewalk is present.

•	 Be aware of your surroundings.

•	 Avoid using electronic devices, which can  
cause distractions.

Maryland’s Pedestrian Safety Laws
•	 TR 21-901: A driver in violation of the law 

(distracted, speeding, impaired, etc.) who 
causes serious injury or death of “vulnerable 
individual” (pedestrian, bicyclist, emergency 
responder, etc.) may face:

•	 Up to $2,000 in fines.

•	 Mandatory court appearance.

•	 Participation in mandatory safety course.

•	 150 hours of community service.
•	 Suspension of driver’s license.

•	 TR 21-506: A pedestrian must use a sidewalk 
when provided. 

•	 TR 21-503: When not at a marked crosswalk 
or an intersection, always give vehicles the 
right-of-way. 

•	 TR 21-502: Drivers must come to a complete 
stop for pedestrians in crosswalks. 
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