#### IMPAIRED DRIVING PROGRAM AREA BRIEF

## BACKGROUND

#### Maryland's Fight Against Impaired Driving

Maryland proactively combats impaired driving through collaborative partnerships between State agencies, legislative and judicial leaders, regional authorities, local government agencies, and nongovernmental organizations. These partnerships strengthen and enforce impaired driving laws and help to educate the public about the dangers of impaired driving. Together these agencies have joined forces to form Maryland's Impaired Driving Emphasis Area Team. This team, made up of nearly 50 private and public members, help to address the complex issue of impaired driving by sharing information, resources, and expertise on the education, health, enforcement, and judicial issues surrounding impaired driving.

#### Ignition Interlock Program: What is it? How is it significant to the fight against drunk driving?

Ignition Interlock is a tool that helps to keep drunk drivers off our roads. It allows drivers to continue driving -- but only when sober. An individual participating in the Ignition Interlock program can only operate motor vehicles that are equipped with an ignition interlock device.

An ignition interlock device is an alcohol detection device that is connected to a vehicle's ignition system. The driver must blow into a mouthpiece connected to the device, allowing the device to measure the driver's breath alcohol content (BAC). The device prevents the vehicle from starting if the driver's BAC registers greater than .025. The device also asks for additional retests while the vehicle is in motion; however, it is not necessary to stop driving while taking a retest. The device also records information about use that is reviewed by the Service Provider every thirty days.

If eligible, a driver may immediately opt-in – "elect" to participate in Maryland's Ignition Interlock Program instead of serving the Administrative Per Se suspension period (see <u>Impaired Driving</u> <u>Laws</u>). "Opt-in" instructions can be found on the reverse side of the driver's copy of the "Order of Suspension."

For information on Maryland's Ignition Interlock program, visit <u>https://mva.maryland.gov/about-mva/Pages/info/26200/26200-14T.aspx</u>.

## THE FACTS





- Motor vehicle crashes are a huge threat to public health. Motor vehicle crashes continue to be
  a leading cause of death in the United States<sup>1</sup>. In 2018, approximately 6.7 million crashes were
  reported; approximately 29 percent resulted in an injury or fatality<sup>2</sup>.
- Impaired driving trends are inconsistent. Between 2015 and 2019, the number of impaired driving crashes in Maryland rose and fell with 2018 having highest number of total crashes annually.
- Fatal crashes related to impaired driving are slowly decreasing. Between 2015 and 2019, nearly 16,000 persons were either killed or injured in a crash where drugs and/or alcohol were involved. From 2015 to 2019, the number of fatal crashes related to impaired driving have decreased by approximately 19 percent. Statewide, overall fatal crashes have increased by approximately 3 percent since 2015.
- Metropolitan areas have the highest concentration of impaired driving crashes<sup>3</sup>. Approximately 80 percent all impaired driving crashes occurred within the Baltimore and Washington metropolitan areas, with more than 16 percent occurring in Prince George's County.



<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> CDC National Vital Statistics Reports – 10 Leading Causes of Death

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) Traffic Safety Facts Annual Report Tables, National Statistics 2010-2018

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup>Baltimore Metropolitan area is comprised of Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Harford, Howard and Queen Anne's Counties, and Baltimore City as designated by the Baltimore Metropolitan Council. The Washington Metropolitan Area is defined as Charles, Frederick, Montgomery, and Prince George's Counties as designated by the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments.

- Weekends and late evening hours have the highest number of impaired crashes. Approximately eight percent of yearly impaired driving crashes occurred each month. Fifty-eight percent of all impaired crashes occurred on a Friday, Saturday, or early Sunday. Twice as many impaired driving crashes occurred on a Saturday or early Sunday as did on a Monday. Crashes resulting in death or injury were highest on Saturdays and Sundays (early morning hours). Crashes began to increase from 5 p.m. through the early morning hours and saw a dramatic fall after 3 a.m.
- Impaired drivers in their twenties are involved in a disproportionate number of crashes. Three out of ten impaired drivers were 20–29 years old. In addition, impaired drivers in their twenties were involved in slightly more than 30 percent of crashes resulting in an injury or death.

# MARYLAND'S IMPAIRED DRIVING LAWS

Effective laws are essential to preventing the tragedies that result from impaired driving. Maryland has enacted major changes to its impaired driving laws over the last several years, including increased penalties and expansion of the ignition interlock program.

#### WHEN YOU ARE PULLED OVER AND AN OFFICER SUSPECTS ALCOHOL:

The officer will require you to submit to a field sobriety test and/or submit to blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test. BAC is the amount (grams) of alcohol present in a 100 milliliter (ml) volume of blood. For example, 80 mg is 0.08 grams, 0.08 grams of alcohol in 100 ml is written as 0.08%. This value can also be described as 0.08 BAC. Above a certain BAC, you are legally considered impaired.

If you test above the legal limit for alcohol (0.08 BAC), or refuse an officer's request to submit to a chemical test for alcohol or drug use:

- You will be issued an Order of Suspension (form #DR-015A) along with your traffic citation(s).
- The police officer will confiscate your Maryland driver's license and may issue you a 45-day temporary paper license.

For more information, see <u>https://mva.maryland.gov/safety/Pages/mhso/program-impaired-driving-prevention.aspx</u> and <u>https://mva.maryland.gov/drivers/Pages/maryland-impaired-driving-laws.aspx</u>.

#### IMPAIRED DRIVING CONVICTIONS

If you are convicted of an impaired driving offense, you face both criminal and administrative (license) penalties and sanctions.

If you are convicted of Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol (DUI):

- For a first offense, you face up to a \$1,000 fine and up to one year in jail. Twelve (12) points will be assessed on your driving record and your license may be revoked for up to six (6) months.
- For a second offense, you face a \$2,000 fine and up to two years of imprisonment (with a mandatory minimum of five days). Twelve (12) points will be assessed on your license and your license may be revoked for up to one year.

- For two convictions within five years, a mandatory period of suspension will be followed by a minimum required period of participation in the Ignition Interlock Program.
- You may be required to participate in an alcohol abuse assessment and program.

If you are convicted of Driving while Impaired by Alcohol (DWI):

- For a first offense, you face up to a \$500 fine and up to two months of imprisonment. Eight (8) points will be assessed on your driving record, and you face a 6-month license suspension. If this conviction is the result of a driver under 21, you will face a 1-year suspension.
- For a second DWI offense, you face up to a \$500 fine and up to one year of imprisonment. Eight (8) points will be assessed on your driving record, and you face a license suspension of 9 to 12 months. If this conviction is the result of a driver under 21, you will face a 2-year suspension.

The penalties are higher if you are transporting a minor at the time of the offense or for a third offense.

#### UNDERAGE DRINKING AND FAKE ID LAWS

If you are under 21 and found to have purchased, possessed or consumed alcohol, you face a fine of up to \$500 for your first offense and \$1,000 for your second or subsequent offense.

Anyone under 21 who violates their alcohol restriction must agree to be automatically enrolled into the ignition interlock program or face suspension. If assignment to the ignition interlock program is for a second alcohol violation in five years, the duration of participation is determined by the number of times the individual has been assigned to interlock due to one of these violations.

- If you are under 21 and in possession of a fake ID, you face:
  - A fine of up to \$500
  - Up to two months in prison
  - 12 points on your license
  - Driver's license suspension or revocation
- If you are caught selling fake IDs, you face:
  - A fine of up to \$2,000 for **each** fake ID sold
  - Up to two years in jail for **each** fake ID sold
  - You are also subject to prosecution for violating federal and homeland security laws
- If you are over 21 and knowingly furnish alcohol to a minor, you face:
  - A fine of up to \$2,500 for the first violation
  - A fine of up to \$5,000 for a second or subsequent violation

#### **REPEAT OFFENDER**

If you are convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol and you have had a *prior* driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled dangerous substance violation within five years of the date of the violation, your license will be suspended for one year followed by participation in the Ignition Interlock Program for one year. You may, if eligible opt into the Program for one year in lieu of your suspension.

For more information, visit <u>https://mva.maryland.gov/about-mva/Pages/info/26100/26100-80T.aspx</u>.

#### NOAH'S LAW

The Drunk Driving Reduction Act of 2016, also known as '**Noah's Law**,' requires drivers to enroll in Maryland's Ignition Interlock Program for the following convictions:

- Driving under the influence (DUI);
- Driving while impaired (DWI) while transporting a minor under the age of 16;
- Driving while intoxicated with an initial breathalyzer test refusal; and
- Homicide or life-threatening injury by motor vehicle while DUI or DWI.

For more information on Noah's Law, visit <u>https://mva.maryland.gov/safety/Pages/mhso/program-impaired-driving-prevention.aspx.</u>

## MARYLAND'S IMPAIRED DRIVING PREVENTION PROGRAMS

#### Impaired Driving Enforcement Efforts

- The Maryland Highway Safety Office supports enforcement and education programs aimed at preventing impaired driving. Below are a few highlights:
  - <u>Checkpoint StrikeForce</u> Checkpoint StrikeForce is a research-based public outreach initiative designed to get impaired drivers off our roads using sobriety checkpoints and saturation patrols when and where drunk driving is most likely to occur. The initiative is intended to educate the public about dangers and consequences of drunk driving and make the public aware of active enforcement efforts taking place statewide and regionally.
  - State Police Impaired Driving Effort (SPIDRE)-The SPIDRE team is a group of highly trained MSP Troopers that conduct impaired driving enforcement initiatives across a "web" that spans jurisdictions primarily through the Baltimore and Washington metropolitan areas. When the SPIDRE team enters assigned corridors, they work in concert with that jurisdiction's allied police agencies, ensuring a coordinated and collaborative approach to apprehending impaired drivers, which has proven wildly successful. The team uses the High Visibility Enforcement (HVE) model, pairing enforcement efforts with media. In FFY 2014, advertisements were featured on billboards, transit shelters and targeted gas pumps, as well as, radio and digital components in areas where the team was deployed. On July 2, 2014, state officials and law enforcement partners hosted a press event to highlight the one-year anniversary of Maryland's SPIDRE team.

#### <u>Alternative Transportation Programs</u>

The Washington Regional Alcohol Program's (WRAP) WRAP's free safe ride service to prevent drunk driving in the Washington-metropolitan area, SoberRide<sup>®</sup> is served by new ridesharing partner, Lyft; and is exclusively accessible via Lyft's mobile app platform. SoberRide<sup>®</sup> serves

both Montgomery and Prince George's Counties. Should a person under the influence need a safe ride home during targeted holidays and special events, the SoberRide<sup>®</sup> program provides them with a reliable option.

#### DUI/Drug Courts

A DUI/Drug Court is designed to address high-risk individuals over the age of 18 who have been charged with multiple DUI/DWI's, offering them a highly intensive monitoring and rehabilitative treatment program. Eligible individuals will have a prior history of DUI or DWI convictions, no pending sentences, or warrants, and will not currently be on parole or probation. The program diverts offenders from long periods of incarceration and focuses on treatment and providing lifelong tools to avoid alcohol misuse, abuse and addiction that lead to drunk driving. Maryland continues to work with the Maryland Office of Problem Solving Courts to expand the program in other high-risk jurisdictions.

## WHO TO CONTACT ABOUT IMPAIRED DRIVING IN MARYLAND

#### MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION MOTOR VEHICLE ADMINISTRATION

• Contact: MDOT MVA's Press Information at 410-762-5188

#### MARYLAND STATE POLICE - Maryland DUI Laws, Intoximeter, Standardized Field Sobriety Testing

• Media Communications at (410) 653-4343

# MOTHERS AGAINST DRUNK DRIVING - Maryland DUI legislation, Victims Impact Panel, Sobriety Checkpoints, DUI Court Monitoring

 Maryland Chapter of MADD at (410)-964-5757 www.madd.org

# WASHINGTON REGIONAL ALCOHOL PROGRAM - Business Outreach, SoberRide<sup>®</sup> Program, Advocacy, Public Education

Washington Regional Alcohol Program at (703)-893-0461
 www.wrap.org