
Maryland’s
CHILD PASSENGER
SAFETY LAWS

TR22.412.2(d)
A person transporting a child under 
the age of 8 years in a motor vehicle 
shall secure the child in a federally- 
approved child safety seat* in accor-
dance with the child safety seat and 
vehicle manufacturers’ instructions, 
unless the child is 4 feet, 9 inches  
tall or taller.

A person may not transport a child 
under the age of 16 years unless the 
child is secured in a child safety seat* 
or a seat belt in all seating positions  
in all vehicles.

[*Child safety seat includes infant seats, 
convertible seats, forward-facing seats, booster 
seats, or other safety devices federally approved 
to restrain, seat or position a child who is 
transported in a motor vehicle.]

TR21.1121(c)
A child younger 
than 16 years may 
not ride in the unenclosed 
cargo bed of a pick-up truck.

Remember! Kids under age 13 
are safest in the back seat! It is 
very important that all children are 
properly secured in child safety seats 
(including booster seats) and seat belts.

QUESTIONS
Call Maryland Kids in Safety Seats at 
1-800-370-SEAT or (410) 767-6016 
or visit us online at mdkiss.org



Maryland’s
SEAT BELT LAW

(TR22.412.3)
Maryland law requires use of a seat belt by all passengers in all 
seats. This means that police officers are able to ticket drivers 
and passengers for not wearing a seat belt.  

OTHER VITAL FACTS ABOUT THE LAW

-	 Covers motor vehicles:

•	 Registered in Maryland as Class A (passenger), Class E 
(truck), Class F (truck tractor), Class M (multipurpose)  
or Class P (passenger bus) vehicles.

•	 Maryland’s occupant protection laws are applicable to  
vehicles registered both in-state and out-of-state. 

-	 Who is covered by the law?

•	 The law covers the driver and passengers in both the  
front and back seats. Each person that is not buckled up  
(driver and passenger) may receive a ticket of $83  
(including court costs) for not wearing a seatbelt.

•	 In the case where neither the driver nor any passenger  
younger than 16 years of age are buckled up, the driver  
will receive a ticket for both: an $83 adult seat belt  
ticket (including court costs) for the driver and an  
$83 ticket (including court costs) for the passenger  
(younger than 16 years of age).*

 
QUESTIONS

Call the MVA’s Maryland Highway Safety Office  
at 410-787-4050.

*Children younger than 16 years of age, in all seating positions, in 
all vehicles, are required to be restrained under Maryland’s Child 
Passenger Safety Law. (Please see reverse side for more information).
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