SEAT BELTS LOOK GOOD ON YOU

Buckle Up. Every Seat, Every Ride.



The law.

Every driver and passenger in Maryland must wear a seat belt. Children under the age of eight must ride in a car seat or booster seat.*

More than 120 unbelted drivers and passengers are killed every year in Maryland. Seat belts could have saved roughly 45 percent of those people.

The fine. \$83 (including court costs)

Police can stop you for not wearing your seat belt. Each person who is not buckled up (driver and passenger) can receive a ticket for not wearing a seat belt.

If any passengers older than 16 are not wearing a seat belt, the driver can receive an \$83 ticket for each offense.

Buckling a seat belt takes less than three seconds. Make sure that you and everyone in your vehicle is buckled up in every seat, every time you go for a ride. It saves you \$83 and it might just save your life or the life of someone you care about.



What can you do?

- Buckle up! Every seat, every time.
- Make sure your passengers are buckled. Unbelted passengers become projectiles in a crash, often causing devastating injuries to others in the car or truck.
- Wear your seat belt at night. Nearly half of all unbelted fatal and serious injuries occur between 8 PM and 4 AM.
- Even at low speeds a seat belt is your best protection. At 25 miles per hour, getting in a crash with no seat belt is equivalent to a threestory fall.
- Think that truck will save you? Think again.
 Pickups and SUVs are more prone to rollovers.
 Seat belts reduce the risk of fatal injury to the driver and front seat passenger by 60 percent.



*For specific questions on child safety seats and your vehicle, please contact Kids in Safety Seats at **1.800.370.SEAT** or visit the website at **www.mdkiss.org**



zerodeathsmd.gov Find us on social media **f 2** O