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Jake’s Law.
A driver who causes serious injury or death while 
talking on a handheld cell phone or texting may 
receive a prison sentence of up to 3 years and a fine 
of up to $5,000.

What can you do?
• Park your phone before you drive. 

• Manage your time.  
Driving is not the time to talk or text on a  
cell phone.

• Have a designated texter.  
Ask someone else to send or read text messages 
for you.

• Ride responsibly.  
If you are a passenger and a driver is using a 
handheld cell phone, ask him/her to wait until 
arriving at a safe location.

• Buckle up!  
It’s the single most important step to save your  
life in the event of a crash!

• Be an alert driver. 
This includes not driving while drowsy.  
Learn more at www.miemss.org/home/ 
drowsy-driving-awareness

MARYLAND’S CELL PHONE  
AND TEXTING LAWS

Approximately 27,OOO people are injured  
or killed annually in Maryland because of  
distracted driving crashes. 

The fine.
Police can stop and ticket drivers for using a handheld 
cell phone. 

Drivers will face fines (including court costs) of:

$83 first offense 
$14O second offense 
$16O third offense (and subsequent offenses)

Drivers can also be ticketed for writing, sending or 
reading a text or electronic message while driving. 

The fine is: $7O and 1 point

If the use of the device contributes to a crash,  
the fine may increase to: $11O and 3 points

The law.
Maryland law prohibits the use of a handheld cell 
phone or texting while driving. 

Jake’s Law.
A driver who causes serious injury or death while 
talking on a handheld cell phone or texting may receive 
a prison sentence of up to 1 year and a fine of up  
to $5,000.

Cell phone use and texting  
are leading causes of  
distracted driving.
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