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Help protect Maryland’s 
first responders, emergency 
personnel, and all motorists. 

move over. 
slow down.  
it’s the law.



• Maryland’s Move Over Law is in 
place to protect law enforcement, 
emergency responders, and any 
motorist who may encounter a 
roadside emergency and must stop 
near travel lanes.

• It’s Maryland Law to move over when 
approaching ANY stopped, standing, 
or parked vehicle displaying warning 
signals – including hazard warning 
lights, road flares, or other caution 
signals including traffic cones, 
caution signs, or other warning signs.

• If it is not safe to move over, slow to  
a reasonable and prudent speed 
that is safe for existing weather, 
road, and vehicular or pedestrian 
traffic conditions.

• The lives of Maryland’s motorists, 
first responders, and emergency 
personnel depend on us all doing  
our part.

Maryland’s Move  
Over Driving Laws

• Violating the law is a misdemeanor 
carrying a $110 fine and one point on  
your license.

• If the violation causes a crash, the 
fine is $150 and three points.

• If there is a death or serious injury, 
the fine is $750 and three points.

Why Maryland Has  
a Move Over Law




