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Always pay attention  
while driving.

scan to learn more
ZeroDeathsMD.gov/DistrDriving



•	 There are four types of distractions  
while driving:
•	 VISUAL — Looking at something  

other than the road.

•	 AUDITORY — Hearing or listening to something 
not related to driving.

•	 MANUAL — Manipulating something  
other than the steering wheel.

•	 COGNITIVE — Thinking about something  
other than driving.

•	 Park the phone before you drive; 
anything that takes your attention from 
driving puts you and everyone on the 
road in danger. 

•	 If you’re driving and need to respond to 
a phone call, text, or email, pull over in  
a safe area.

•	 If you have a passenger, ask them to be 
a designated texter.

Maryland’s Distracted Driving Laws

•	 (TR 21-1124) Maryland law prohibits the 
use of a handheld cell phone or texting 
while driving. 
•	 The fine is $83 for the first offense, escalates 

to $140 for a second offense, and is $160 for  
a third offense.

•	 Drivers also can be ticketed $70 and 1 point  
for writing, sending, or reading a text 
message while driving. If the use of the device 
contributes to a crash, the fine may increase 
to $110 and 3 points.  

•	 Jake’s Law — A driver who causes 
serious injury or death while talking on 
a handheld cell phone or texting may 
receive a prison sentence of up to 1 year 
and a fine of up to $5,000. 

Educational Tips for Focused Driving

DISTRACTED DRIVERS ARE  
INVOLVED IN ONE THIRD OF ALL 
FATAL CRASHES IN MARYLAND.


